News & Updates

On Sunday July 19 in São Paulo, Brazil, the global Speedcubing elite congregated for the Rubik’s Cube World Championship – the first time that the competition has ever been held in South America.

At Colégio Etapa, a school in the centre of São Paulo, Feliks Zemdegs of Australia retained his crown with an average time of 7.56 seconds, winning the championship trophy and a selection of Rubik’s Cube prizes. Feliks also performed the fastest Single Solve of the competition: 5.60 seconds.

As ever, the event was As ever, the event was incredibly tight and Feliks won by a margin of one second, narrowly beating Mats Valk of the Netherlands who finished with an average time of 8.56 seconds.

The UK was well represented in the 3 x 3 Cube, with Breandan Vallance of Scotland and Robert Yau of England finishing strongly against a competitive field with times of 10.70 seconds and 10.01 seconds respectively.

Top five in 3 x 3 Rubik’s Cube final:

Feliks Zemdegs, Australia 7.56
Mats Valk, Netherlands 8.56
Jakub Kipa, Poland 8.63
Michal Pleskowicz, Poland 8.82
Sayed Mohammad Hossein, Israel 8.82

Other notable results were:

• Kabyani Talukdar of India who won the 3 x 3 blindfolded category with a time of 24.86 seconds
• Feliks Zemdegs of Australia who won the 3 x 3 one-handed category with a time of 11.85 seconds
• Gabriel Pereira Campanha of Brazil who won the 3 x 3 with feet category with a time of 32.51 seconds

There were 18 different events at the 2015 Rubik’s Cube World Championship including:

• 2x2 Rubik’s Cube
• 3x3 Rubik’s Cube
• 4x4 Rubik’s Cube
• 5x5 Rubik’s Cube
• One-handed 3x3 Rubik’s Cube
• Blindfolded 3x3 Rubik’s Cube
• 3x3 Rubik’s Cube (fewest moves)
• 3x3 Rubik’s Cube with feet
• 4x4 Rubik’s Cube blindfolded
• 5x5 Rubik’s Cube blindfolded
• 3x3 Rubik’s Cube multiple blindfolded

​​​​​​​Rubik’s Cube World Champions

The Rubik’s Cube World Championship was first held in Budapest in 1982 and was won by American Minh Thai with a time of 22.95 seconds.

Since then, huge improvements in technique, lubrication and participation have pushed the sport further than ever before.

2015 São Paulo Feliks Zemdegs, Australia 7.56
2013 Las Vegas Feliks Zemdegs, Australia 8.18
2011 Bangkok Michał Pleskowicz, Poland 8.65
2009 Dusseldorf Breandan Vallance, UK 10.74
2007 Budapest Yu Nakajima, Japan 12.46
2005 Orlando Jean Pons, France 15.10
2005 Toronto Dan Knights, USA 20.00
1982 Budapest Minh Thai, USA 22.95

In total, over 423 people from 41 countries competed in the 2015 Rubik’s Cube World Championship.

To see a full list of results, please go to the official website at

To find out more about the Rubik’s Cube, visit the website at, Twitter feed @RubiksOnline or official Facebook page.

New film of 2015 championship:


Images and B-roll from the 2015 Rubik’s Cube World Championship are available.

Footage of Feliks Zemdegs achieving his 5.60 second solve is available here from 1.55:

Film is free for use for publishing, broadcast or social media purposes.

Media information provided by Famous Publicity. For more information please contact Tina Fotherby at 07703 409 622 or

For USA and Latin America media contact, please get in touch with Nicole Agnello at 401-727-5947

For Canada, please contact Grant Chapman at 416-752-4382 ext #209 or

Rubik’s Cube® is a registered trademark of Rubik’s Brand Ltd


Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you have any queries, and if you are thinking about beginning your journey with Famous Publucity Ltd.